Friday, October 18, 2013

Audrey Bunny

! I have admired Breezy Brookshire's  illustrations for years, and this book is simply beautiful! 
This sweet children’s book is about a stuffed animal named Audrey Bunny who fears her imperfections make her unworthy of a little girl’s love. She'll learn the truth soon enough, and young readers will learn that everyone is special and wonderfully made by God. The last page of the book also shares discussion questions and activities reinforcing God's love for us.

EDITED TO ADD
After reading this book again with my kiddos, I noticed the tiny hand print on the dedication page, and did a quick search. I spent two days reading the story of baby Audrey Caroline, and crying. Baby Audrey would be as old as my sweet Abigail is now.  Throughout the entire story God is glorified, and I highly recommend taking the time to read it. It made me love the book that much more!

http://angiesmithonline.com/category/audrey/

I read it backwards, but you can start at the beginning here: 
http://angiesmithonline.com/2008/01/the-beginning-of-the-story/ 

A Bird Died


 My favorite fiction author Chautona Havig has written a book about what happened to her 3 year old grandson when he was electrocuted by a downed power line. His mama happens to be one of my dearest friends, and all proceeds from the book will go towards his continuing medical care.
 This is a GREAT cause, and the  book was great too. 



And to find out more about Stephen's story and how to donate, click here: https://www.facebook.com/HelpStephenandFamily

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Rite of Passage

If you are looking to hold a rite of passage for your children, this is the book for you. It talks about the four ceremonies the author held for his children, and why he chose each element that was included.
I agree that it is important that parents lead their children purposefully into adulthood, but am not sure the way authors examples are something that a lot of parents could pull off. He does say that every family should cater it to their own needs, and the very end tells a little on how to do that. But most of it outlines his way with just small variations.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Monday, October 14, 2013

The New Answers Book 4



I am sad to say I have been rather disappointed with Answers in Genesis lately.
I love what they stand for, and have loved many of their materials. But first, their new billboard campaign turned me off.
And then I received this book. I jumped right to the chapter about GMOs. The author likened genetically modifying foods with the way Jacob selectively bread Laban's sheep in the book of Genesis. I think it is a stretch to call that the same thing. He didn't come out and say GMOs were good, but I felt like that was the implied answer. 

I continued reading, and was just not impressed with the rest of the book either.  I am a Creationist 100%, butt heir arguments and references didn't completely convince me on a few subjects (even though I am already convinced by the Bible).

I received this book from the published in exchange for an honest review.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

What It Means To Be A Man


I chose this book, looking for something to guide my sons into the Biblical role of manhood. This was not what I was hoping for. 
Maybe it is because I am not a man that I didn't enjoy it.  
The 15 chapters are really short, just a few pages each. I was able to finish the entire book in one sitting. It didn't really go into depth on each topic. There wasn't a lot of meat for me to walk away with.
And honestly, I found the cut out mustache at the end to be really cheesy. I just don't get the mustache craze to begin with though.

*I received this book as a free review copy from Moody Publishers.* 

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Summit Ministries

A friend has been telling me about an awesome Worldview Curriculum by Summit Ministries. Her daughter went through and their whole family has been so blessed. We are unable to buy the curriculum right now, but we watched all the free online videos for the middle school level. I can not even describe how amazing these messages are.
You can find them here:
I beg you to please take the time to watch at least the one called "Guard Your Heart".
And then if you are blessed (and I know you will be) watch "Six Great Questions" too. 
I can't overemphasize what an amazing resource Summit Ministries is. If I teach my children nothing else but how to be followers of Christ in this upside world, I will have succeeded. These videos and teachings are a great tool in taking that thinking deeper.
Besides watching all of the  free middle school videos over the summer, we read  "How To Be Your Own Selfish Pig" {We already owned the Creatures that Defy Evolution DVDS, but they are also on Netflix}. The discussions that sprang up with both boys were so rich and fruitful for all of us. We have since bought the student manual and are working through that this year. We will do the same next year with the high school level textbook and videos 

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Godonomics




 I have been truly enjoying the book Godonomics this week.  This book spells out what the Bible says about economics, as well as how our current economy actually works, and how, historically,we got to the point we are at. Its packed full of facts, but is written in an easy to read way.

I have been doing a lot or pre-reading of economic books lately, looking for resources to use as part of our homeschooling curriculum. Most are dry and hard to follow, but this book is definitely a keeper!I have read selections out loud as I read and my boys were intrigued and cant wait to read it on their own. I also loved seeing Summit Ministries as one of the sources :)

I recommend this book to all Americans. Many voters do not understand economics, or history, yet have very strong opinions on how things should be run. Godonomics gives the truth behind the economy really works, and spells out how we can fix the mess our country (and many of us individually) are in.

"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."

Wednesday, August 14, 2013

Little Pilgrims Progress Adventure Guide



When I signed up for this book, I thought I would be receiving Little Pilgrims Progress.  My children and I have read it together every  year since my oldest was 5. It's an amazing read and our copy is pretty worn out.

But instead we received Little Pilgrims Progress Adventure Guide. This time as we read Little Pilgrims Progress, we went through the Adventure Guide, and while the few corresponding verses were helpful, looking up the definitions, answering the questions, and analyzing the literary techniques took the fun out of the story for my 3 children (ages 13, 9 and 5).  Usually I just orally define unknown terms to my children, and we discuss as we go.

This would be great for someone teaching a class (as the author does) for English credit, but for our family we prefer casually reading and discussing.

Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's CFR Title 16,
Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in
Advertising." 

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Alone Yet Not Alone


Our family just finished this great story! We all enjoyed this historical, true story about 2 sisters who were kidnapped during the French and Indian War in Colonial America.

  About Alone Yet Not Alone (novelization):
Settled in the Blue Mountains of Pennsylvania, deep within America's new frontier, the Leininger family celebrates the blessings of a beautiful homestead and bountiful harvest. That is, until tragedy strikes with the beginning of the French and Indian War and the devastating raid known as the Penn's Creek Massacre. 

The lives of this simple, God-fearing family are forever altered when Barbara and Regina, two young sisters, are carried away by the Delaware tribe. Driven by their faith in God and the powerful bonds of family, Barbara and Regina hold firmly to the belief that they are never alone, even in their darkest hour, and that they will be reunited again. 

Rich in historical details, Alone Yet Not Alone is an inspirational, true story of a family caught in the cross fire of the French and Indian War. 


About Alone Yet Not Alone (THE MOVIE):
Releases in theaters Sept 27th, 2013 - Find a Theater Here:
Families will love this film based on a true story!  Awarded 5 Doves from the Dove Foundation!
Stay Connected
Bring Alone Yet Not Alone to Your Cityhttp://seatzy.com/main/moviedetail/alone-yet-not-alone

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Grandmother's Letters



Louise’s friend is dragging her along on a dubious treasure hunt. She, however, would rather be reading the recently discovered letters written by her great-great-grandmother, Georgiana Donahue. Meanwhile, Xavier, a young law student, is facing struggles of his own. He can’t find a job, his uncle is constantly belittling his late father, and he can hardly stand his seemingly perfect cousin. In the next town, an old man’s reclusive ways are disturbed when he agrees to let Malcolm Moore do his yard work. Although he desires to return to his seclusion, he is perplexed by the Moores' willingness to welcome him into their lives. Almost 100 years in the past, Georgiana Donahue's life was turned upside down in the course of one eventful year, and she was inclined to blame God for all of her troubles. Little did she realize that the searching letters she wrote to her brother and his wife would end up touching so many lives, so long after they were written... 
Suggested Age: 14 - 20 Fiction/Mystery

I read this aloud to my children, and while my 5 year old was in and out, only sometimes following the story,  my boys (ages 9 and 12) loved it, and begged me to read more every time we had to stop! I also immensely enjoyed the story, impatient to find out how it would all come together in the end. The ending was delightful and we  thoroughly enjoyed the book!